Issue #3: An Easier Life

Life is hectic. There is so much to do, that it seems we will never accomplish it all. We complain there is not enough time in the day, but there is if we use it wisely. I am guilty of not using my time wisely.

I’m always looking for new ways to streamline my daily efforts at getting everything done, to allow me to do more writing. Here are some things that I have come up with:

  • Doubling up on recipes, freezing leftovers for quick meals on the busiest days.
  • A baking day once or twice a month is helpful. Bake muffins and breads on this day, to freeze and pull out when needed. Bake casseroles to fill the rest of the freezer with.
  • Organize your time by getting paid work out-of-the-way first. By this I mean work that you are paid directly for, not revenue share articles and the like.
  • Cut back on the amount of time you spend on email.

Now that my Zowie is off at college, I have no more children at home. I no longer provide childcare in my home, which was my “day job” for many years. During this years’ spring cleaning, I am going to incorporate organizational methods that will allow me to spend less overall time each day cleaning. This, in turn, will free up time for my personal writing projects.

Quick Writing Tip

Cooking blogs can be fun to create. I run the Frugal Recipes blog, which gives me great joy. It helps many readers with organizing their kitchens, and gives them information about eating healthy on a budget.

5 Writing Prompts

  1. Article Idea: Cooking tips.
  2. Article Idea: Time management for writers.
  3. Book Idea: A unique cooking method.
  4. Blog Idea: Cooking.
  5. Newsletter Idea: Simple recipes for those with little time.

Quote

To laugh often and much. To win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children. To leave the world a better place. To know one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded.

~Ralph Waldo Emerson~

Challenge

Make a list of things you can do to streamline the different aspects of your life. Begin doing these things. Try adding one of the items from your list to your regular routine each week.

eBook

product_thumbnail.phpGreen Your Freelance Business is a helpful book for the freelancer or anyone with an office. Discover many ways to green your business activities as well as your office. If you haven’t jumped on the bandwagon yet, or if you’re looking for more greening tips, this is the eBook for you.
Green Your Freelance Business has been edited, updated with new information, and provides action steps to help you along the greening journey.
A bonus section at the back of the book offers three creative projects for freelancers. Have fun!
eBook (ePub), 44 Pages. Price: $7.99 lulu.com and the iBookstore

Copyright 2011 Shannon L. Buck: How to Live the Freelance Life

One thought on “Issue #3: An Easier Life

Leave a Reply

