Issue #1: Balancing Act

How many jobs do you have?

I have many: Mother, housekeeper, freelance writer, chef, blogger and more. I wear many hats, as I am sure that you do.

How do I balance it all? It is not easy. My daughters are 21 and 18, so I do not have to care for them every day. I am still very busy, however. I have household and family obligations. I have six cats to care for. If anything is let go so that I can work or have fun, it is the housekeeping.

I try to cook and clean during frequent breaks from my work. This is not usually difficult, as I work from home. Unless, of course, I have deadlines or an emergency pops up. During those times, the housekeeping suffers. I cannot always keep up with everything. I am not perfect.

To stay ahead of the game somewhat, I have a few things that I try to incorporate:

  • Make extra servings of meals to freeze. I store these in serving size containers, and take one out the morning before the day it will be needed.
  • Have foods on hand, even if kept in the freezer, to make slow cooker meals. I throw everything into the slow cooker in the morning, add liquid if necessary and turn it on high for lunch or low for dinner.
  • Keep a shopping list going at all times, placed in my purse so that I do not forget it when I go shopping.
  • Have a 10 minute cleanup routine morning and night on very busy days. These are just quick jobs, not deep cleaning efforts. For example: Wipe down bathroom and kitchen surfaces, switch up laundry, put clean clothes away, scoop litter boxes, sweep, vacuum, trash and general pick up. This ensures that certain things are done even when I don’t have time to clean the place well.
  • Do one chore or make one meal during each break I do take each day.
  • I do not buy clothing and linens that need special care. I simply throw all dirty items in the washing machine. When it is full, I wash a load. I do not separate clothing to wash.
  • I try to stock up on things that I use a lot of, to lessen the amount of time I spend shopping.
  • I keep a tote packed with work that may be done away from home handy. I grab this tote when I leave the house and keep it with me. I pull out something to do when I have a little extra time.

Quick Writing Tip

Write from your experiences in daily life.

5 Writing Prompts

  1. Article Idea: Write about your day job.
  2. Short Story Idea: Write a funny piece about an unbalanced life.
  3. Poem Topic: Motherhood or fatherhood.
  4. Novelette: Write about the life of a male housekeeper, with a twist.
  5. Novel: The main character has your career.

Quote

“What I dream of is an art of balance, of purity and serenity devoid of troubling or depressing subject matter – a soothing, calming influence on the mind, rather like a good armchair which provides relaxation from physical fatigue.” ~Henry Matisse~

Challenge

Create a schedule that will afford you time to concentrate on building your freelance career.

eBook

product_thumbnail.phpGreen Your Freelance Business is a helpful book for the freelancer or anyone with an office. Discover many ways to green your business activities as well as your office. If you haven’t jumped on the bandwagon yet, or if you’re looking for more greening tips, this is the eBook for you.

Green Your Freelance Business has been edited, updated with new information, and provides action steps to help you along the greening journey.

A bonus section at the back of the book offers three creative projects for freelancers. Have fun!

44 pages. epub. $7.99. lulu.com

Copyright 2010 Shannon L. Buck: How to Live the Freelance Life

Leave a Reply

